Beauty is our Medicine

ph

i took this in a fit of AWE!
i took this in a fit of AWE!

Candy Skin in line waiting to get all decked up.
Candy Skin in line waiting to get all decked up.

Lately I have found it hard to seperate the concepts of Beauty, and Medicine.  I use them interchangably, I think of them having the same meaning.  At first poeticly, but more recently, literally.   The stride for beauty in our culture seems to be ever closing in on the concept that health is beauty, so our pathway to beauty is through sustaining and setting new heights for living our health.

A huge portion of our worlds source of pharmaceutical medicine is inspired and replicated from plants.  Many cultures have held onto the raw plant  being the vehicle for medicine. berriesflower buds

Nature has been civilizations constant muse of beauty.  We  head to nature to find, ourselves, our souls, our peace, raw beauty,  examples on how to exsist, inspiration for ever evolving invention,  sustinence, and to tap its medicinal powers.

When we enter nature to find medicine, it comes to us in forms of soft and prickly leaves and needles, brightly colored berries and flowers,  canopy’s of shade, and braids of barks.  It comes to us in forms that we perceive as beauty incarnate.  It doesn’t even seem to work that hard for its beauty.  It grows and dies with grace and patience, waiting for the perfect conditions that will make it thrive.

japanese gardens move my soul.  I still haven't figured it out, but they have already known about a medicinal language between plant and humans.
japanese gardens move my soul. I still haven’t figured it out, but they have already known about a medicinal language between plant and humans.

What parts of nature do you find most beautiful?

Do you know what kind of medicine comes from that beauty?

Perhaps you will find your medicine where you find it most beautiful…

Samsara

Ask yourself where in nature do you see the miraculous, the magical, the wonder.  Get specific!  A sunrise looking over the ocean or a sunset high in the mountains?

Inside lies the beauty of chocolate, cacao beans, cacao butter, sweet fruit...
Inside lies the beauty of chocolate, cacao beans, cacao butter, sweet fruit…

Seeing a wild piece of fruit growing on a tree and reveling in it’s grandeur, or watching  a single flower bloom over the course of a day.  Perhaps you find beauty in the darker salton seas, Shore of the Salton Sea

Salton Sea, California.  It does not sustain many life forms, yet breeds a kind of life so unfamiliar to us.
Salton Sea, California. It does not sustain many life forms, yet breeds a kind of life so unfamiliar to us.

where life and beauty exsist on intense levels of alkaline or deep in the moltenous volcanoes.  Or inside the wet dark green forests.

medicine from the dark and wet

These deep, hard to describe connections we have with nature are clues to our medicine.  There is such powerful medicine in beauty, and sooo much beauty in the nature of medicine.  Its a language that speaks volumes on how we can use beauty as our medicine and medicine as our beauty.

 

Last fall these were wild apples growing on my island.  The abundance of wild made me want to cry.  I squeezed them all into cider, which for me is MEDICINE
Last fall these were wild apples growing on my island. The abundance of wild made me want to cry. I squeezed them all into cider, which for me is MEDICINE

“Medicine is the word for the study of the soul and flesh that dwell together in humans, and by which we seek in our limited ways to put it right while it walks the earth, before it is lain to rest in the earth.  Spend a day, now and then, in amazement. Love the broken, touch the sick, caress the dying, shake hands with the scandalous and wicked, embrace the mad. Learn the feel of their heartbeats and the sound of their breaths, the color of their eyes and the textures of their hair. Each of them is a wonder no less than the stars.”

Dr. Leap is a member of Blue Ridge Emergency Physicians, an emergency
physician at Oconee Memorial Hospital in Seneca, SC

4 thoughts on “Beauty is our Medicine

  1. This post is so, incredibly beautiful.

    I find raw, purely natural beauty to be the most enchanting.
    The kind of beauty, ancient seducteviness snd wisdom combined, that attracted our spiritual godfathers. True beauty, as I say.
    And true beauty, as I say.

  2. And I am sorry for the weird typo-mistakes I did at the end of the message, my phone is being weird.

    The main thing I meant to say, was that I admire the way you think and you inspire me everyday.
    I hope our adventures bring us together someday.

    Love you, lots of magickal faeriedust to you!
    Eva

  3. First, thank you. You know, I have bothered you in the past asking for a new blogversation about beauty, so I am really happy to see this one standing here.
    Let me think…this time we are talking about what kind of special Beauty we find into nature which is so strong we can feel some life source coming from that?

    If that’s the case, I have a lot to say.

    I don’t know if I have said it before, but i came from italy, which is where Greek and Latin poetry met. In those old poems, we can find some intriguing “auctors” (authors), like Virgilium or Horatium, who wrote about the world of nature in a way that seems to pay tribute to that world of wonder.

    First of all, we know that Virgilium wrote an epic poem named Aeneid, and that doesn’t matter to us now. What he wrote about this magical world of nature were the Bucolics.
    In those ten Eclogues, Virgilium wrote about a magical world of nature where humans could live in peace, escaping the turbolence of all the violent politics act of the fall of the Roman republic. That was in 40 B.C., maybe the first to sang about an escape from the city to the country, to the wild, to where they could be free from violence, and where those peaceful men could live in perfect armony, in a world made of songs, shepardry and myth.

    We then have Horatium, which took this freedom to a more extreme way: he described himself as a suffering man enclosed in a strangling city, where all he wanted was to escape to a more relaxed world where he coule be freed from all his anxieties.
    His poetry brought in Italy the Greek Lyric, the ancient form of sang/played poem, singing the famous “Carpe Diem” (seize the moment), inviting everyone to avoid every fight and just live the normal day, maybe protected by the tiny wall of a little country house or some little and bittersweet environment far from the city.

    So, for some ancient poets, fed by those annoying civil wars, the Medicine they found was “Singing about the beauty of nature” and singing about how a man who comes back to his roots could feel.

    And this is my answer too. I’m a city guy, and i love to live in a full-serviced environment, but as I read ancient poems, or as I live a form of art wich tributes something to that ancient world of nature in all of his primordial force, I feel something…well I can’t state it for sure, but…is like a sublimation of my inner self.

    To answer, finally: What is my medicine? To see in the Art world the Nature. Yes, not to live it directly, but to use it as a personal Muse. My medicine is to be in complete awe just imagining that mythcal ancient world. Sorry to say, I don’t think I am a physical type, so I can enjoy only the nature sublimation…!

    I saw that you said that you used either Medicine or Beauty “At first poeticly, but more recently, literally”. Well, in Rome, once they embraced the philosophy of “Mens sana in corpore sano” (sane mind in sane body). Maybe because they realized, 2000 years ago, that a natural cure for the mind could make us feel at ease even in the body.

    Allow me to end this delirium I wrote with a quote form the Pervigilium Veneris:

    “Cras amet qui numquam amavit – quique amavit cras amet”
    (Love tomorrow whoever has never loved – and whoever loved, love tomorrow!)

    -And this one was jsut to show the explosive vitality that the beaty of the world of nature has to show us and the effect it can have on us. And if that’s not a medicine, a cure, well, I dont’ know what miracles a real medicinecan be capable of!-

Leave a Reply

