The Art of the Self Date

How long has it been since you took yourself on a date? Months, years…NEVER…

Contessa, would you like to go out on a date with me, Contessa? "Ummm...hell's yes!
Contessa, would you like to go out on a date with me, Contessa? “Ummm…hell’s yes!

Whether you have a certain someone or you frolic free, dating yourself is one of the most gratifying divine experiences we can provide for ourselves.  Whether your someone who generally gravitates toward being around others at all times or enjoy your alone time, taking yourself on a date can re-establish a relationship with ourselves that you might forgotten exsisted.

Totally an awesome gesture to yourself, to get yourself some flowers.  I like to pick them wild!!
Totally an awesome gesture to yourself, to get yourself some flowers. I like to pick them wild!!

 

I took myself on a date last night, and blew myself away!!  So much of the time we compromise our true desires simply because there is so much going on around us.  The point of a self date is to be able to focus on one thing: YOU!!

When going on a date with yourself, ask yourself the same questions you would if you were taking someone else out.

What would they like to eat?

I love to cook, but tend to only go all out when there are others around.  Making a colorful festive meal for myself, is treating myself to such a treat. FEAST for one!!
I love to cook, but tend to only go all out when there are others around. Making a colorful festive meal for myself, is treating myself to such a treat. FEAST for one!!

What time of the day should we experience together?

How are we going to get there?

What do we do if there’s awkward silences?

How can I show them who I am?

What will impress them?

Now replace all those “them’s” and “we’s” to “I’s” and ask the same questions.

No matter if you have an hour, an entire day, or simply a moment…make that moment a date with yourself.

The Contessa Froth. Inspired form one of my favorite places to be, the COntessa Pillow PAlace!
The Contessa Froth. Inspired from one of my favorite places to be,one of my favorite places to take myself ona date, the COntessa Pillow PAlace!

My favorite way to give myself a moment, is making myself a luscious hot drink and sitting myself in a drenching sunlit spot.  A spot so brilliantly bright in sunshine, that I blind myself.  In that blinding light, and with that self made gift in my hand, I easily recognize myself.

So here are a few hints to help you design your own self date…

 

1.   Ask yourself: If money were no object, and time was of no effect…where would I go today, what would I do?  What would I eat? What would I drink? What environment do I want to hang out in? How will I get there?  What have I wanted for so long, but deprived myself?

When I'm alone, I often crave monochromatic meals or treats.  Something I wouldn't present with others around.  This little divine plate was one of those times.  Often when I'm alone, I crave simplicity, plainess...but when I divulge even in this, I'm so rewarded.
When I’m alone, I often crave monochromatic meals or treats. Something I wouldn’t present with others around. This little divine plate was one of those times. Often when I’m alone, I crave simplicity, plainess…but when I divulge even in this, I’m so rewarded.

All these questions should be answered pre-date. These answers will help get you to the point of action.

Getting ready is my favorite part about going out.  Self dates, always include a long prepping myself period.  I take care of myself as if I were meeting me for the first time.
Getting ready is my favorite part about going out. Self dates, always include a long prepping myself period. I take care of myself as if I were meeting me for the first time.

2.   Prepare for your date with as much fervor and detailed attention to yourself as if you were meeting someone for the first time:

3.   Announce to your world that you are going on a date and you are unavailable to anyone else while this is happening.  Dates by yourself can be easily derailed by an unexpected phone call that you feel you should take, errands that have to be done, impromptu conversations and life duties that tend to get your attention before you.  Once others know you respect your time, they will respect it too.

To the beach I went one date alone.
To the beach I went one date alone.

4. Although you plan out your date, leave a little wiggle room of the unexpected whim you might encounter.  Set the element of suprise up for yourself.  Stay open to the winds shifting your attention, to signs and symbols.

On one of my dates, I took myself on a hike.  I looked up and showed myself this declaration to my life.  I dripping heart,  jsut for me!
On one of my dates, I took myself on a hike. I looked up and showed myself this declaration to my life. I dripping heart, just for me.  I was about to turn back before I saw this heart floating in the forest.  It was a sign that I should keep going.

5.  Make sure to tell yourself how much you enjoyed the date and time. Ask yourself, would you go on another date with me?  I’m gonna guess the answer is going to be a big heaping divine, absooooolutely!!

When I take myself out I tend to dress in disguises.  Something I wouldn't normally wear.  It's exciting to see yourself out and about in such a new way.
When I take myself out I tend to dress in disguises. Something I wouldn’t normally wear. It’s exciting to see yourself out and about in such a new way.
ususally the first date leads to many, many ideas about what you would do next time.  Write them down, becasue when it comes time to go on the second date you won't have to spend half your date trying to figure out what you really want to do.
ususally the first date leads to many, many ideas about what you would do next time. Write them down, becasue when it comes time to go on the second date you won’t have to spend half your date trying to figure out what you really want to do.

 

I would love to hear your after date reviews!! Post how it went here, and inspire others to take the time for themselves.

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Art of the Self Date

  1. Sometimes I set up my hookah and brew some tea, but the fancy way (teapot and all) and spend some time with myself, some of those times I wondered if it was so normal to hang out with myself as if I was with someone else but thanks to this entry I found out that it isn’t just normal but amazing. Thank you very much for that, next time I’ll date me more often and on the outdoors.

  2. I just finished a self date and it was just what i needed right now ^^ french vanilla capuccino and fish with cocktail sauce then reclined on the couch and snuggled with my kitty :3

Leave a Reply

