Tips and tricks for the Wanderlust at heart

wanderlust1

opening every doorway in your path...
opening every doorway in your path…

I have the fever, I always have…only cooled by the constant movement beneath my feet.  When I stay still for to long an earthquake starts to rumble in my soul.  Simply pleasures become work, time expands and seconds swell to high levels of impatience.  I’m all for exploring the lusts constant corners and turns,  purposefully hunting down the forks in the road, unnerving the decision making at the crossroads, and chasing your own struggles to own them and not let them own you.

Any image can set the fever off.  A piece of mail especially.  The mail flys away to its traveling destiny.
Any image can set the fever off. A piece of mail especially. The mail flys away to its traveling destiny.

I’ve been lucky enough to have a job over the past fifteen years that feeds my hunger for wandering.  Performing is my vehicle for this wander, and everyday I’m so grateful that two of my greatest pleasures have let me live the wanderlust.

Its a fever, but a good one!
Its a fever, but a good one!
Just trying to keep up with the wandering heart of mine.
Just trying to keep up with the wandering heart of mine.

Of course there are times, when the feet must take a rest and reflect on all that has been experienced.  Time given to the other parts of this wonderous life.  Time to spend with loved ones, time to spend with family,  business and commitments.  Time to learn about what it means to have a rooted home.  Groundedness.  It is during these times that the fever kicks in quickly.  I have a wanderlust cycle that tends to kick in every three weeks.  Of course the dream is to give into every lick and split of the wanderlust and change courses with the changing of the winds, but I have learned this doesn’t always fully realize in the romantical way your mind imagines it.  It is a yogic exercise for me to find the stillness, and one I really wish to be at peace with.

Staring at a sunset anywhere in the world posseses the feeling of us all sharing something together.
Staring at a sunset anywhere in the world posseses the feeling of us all sharing something together.  A sculpture found staring at the Australian coast while fulfilling the wanderlust.
walking into a sunset can really help the wanderlust fever.  it taps you into the rhythms of the earth and all the constant movement that we're apart of.  Veronica and Captain walking off into the sunset, Sydney Australia.
Walking into a sunset can really help the wanderlust fever. It taps you into the rhythms of the earth and all the constant movement that we’re apart of. Veronica and Captain walking off into the sunset, Sydney Australia.

So here are my tips and tricks in those luscious moments of stillness that I treat my wanderlust fever:

Listen to a foreign radio station all day long- I’m often distracted by my wanderlust. Wondering what adventures are going on without me all around the world, or in specific places that I happen to be missing at the time.  As soon as I open my eyes in the morning, I tune into a radio station happening in Paris or Los Angeles, Vietnam and Peru.  It instantly taps me into the vibes of another city. I can focus on my present work, while tapping into sounds from a foreign place.  I’m hearing all about it,  feeling the rhythms of that city through music and events.  Some of my favorites are KCRW.com, and groovalizacion.com.  I’m listening to groovalizacion as I write this and the song “Finding My Own Way Home” by Mandu is playing…PERFECTION!!

Searching for apartments and places to stay all over the world- I indulge a few minutes of internet time to websites such as craigslist, and airbnb. I give myself 15-20 minutes to scour the listings.  The daydreaming of wanderlust is one of the most intense symptoms of wanderlust.  I go on the plethera of sites that show you whats available around the world.  Sometimes the hook about being still, is there’s a fear you will never get moving again.  Seeing real examples of where you could go and stay for the same money you presently pay for shelter can be such a release.  Apartment hunting in Venice, IT and  great ol’Paris can make it feel as if it’s all about to happen.

Picking up the closest book- The great mythic writer, Blue Christian Winterhawk always says, “Books are like the tarot, you pull the right one at the right time.” Your wanderlust has a very good chance of reading something it needs to hear to satiate it’s seductive snarling.  You don’t even have to read the whole thing.  I love to pick up random books whenever one is lying about and open to a random page.  Whatever the book offers generally speaks very true and loud to my present situation. Isn’t that what wanderlust is truly searching for…the present wandering through a moment?

Other tricks that I love to indulge:

Gathering friends and making music together.  For wanderers, making music is often the way to ground at the end of a long journey, something to keep the lonley blues away.

playing music telling stories, and sitting down on the ground and building a fire can help satieate the fever.
playing music telling stories, and sitting down on the ground and building a fire can help satiate the fever.

Inviting friends over and cooking for them while everyone reconnects.  Out on the road, you tend to gravitate toward others that are traveling the same roads.  You bring comfort to one another before parting on your solo journeys again.  Having friends over can stimulate this feeling of the wandering community. 

Sometimes the reason for Wanderlust is to meet and have time to get to know your fellow lusters.  Although friends may be scattered, everyone loves to be invited over for dinner.
Sometimes the reason for Wanderlust is to meet and have time to get to know your fellow lusters. Although friends may be scattered, everyone loves to be invited over for dinner.  The wanders of old…me and fellow Lucent’s on a work job to Portugal.

Taking a long drive toward no particular destination.  Just push the gas pedal and drive until you feel a pull to turn around.

Do you have any tips and tricks for the wanderlust at heart??  Share any ideas you’ve already tried or share something your planning to do!!

Happy wandering my loves.  Whether you do it physically or in your heart, it is a very natural instinct to lust for the wander…

If it gets to overwhelming and none of these tips or tricks help...the road the wind the sky beckons and you should follow!!
If it gets too overwhelming and none of these tips or tricks help…the road, the wind, the sky, beckons, and you should follow!!

From Somewhere Inside a Puddle,

COntessa

See ya next time down these wandering streets!
See ya next time down these wandering streets!
4 thoughts on “Tips and tricks for the Wanderlust at heart

  1. If you don’t have a car, then walk. Just walk and go where to road takes you. You might think you know where you live but somehow you will always find something new, something wonderful. Even if you have lived the same place in fifteen years,

  2. This is a beautiful post. When I lived in Leicester at University, I would always leave my window open during the night so that I could hear the trains on the tracks nearby rattle off into the distance… I always knew I could be somewhere else, should I ever want to be.

Leave a Reply

