Dancing Dreams: Casting the spells of Wonder

If you couldn't talk how would you move your body to make others understand your deepest dreams and desires...?
If you couldn’t talk how would you move your body to make others understand your deepest dreams and desires…?

I have a passion for redefining words that no longer posses the  true power of their definitions.  The phrase “to cast a spell,”  has been lost in a muck of cliche and unintentional recipes that when I hear it makes me want to shake like a wet animal.  Yet, it is such a powerful and regal phrase full of potency and action.  I believe sans the materials you use, to take the action is the power behind it.When you hear the phrase, ” to cast a spell” you still think about spell casting from the 1700’s. What have we learned in 300 hundred years?  What better way to initiate what is, than activating the largest magical tool I have…my body.  I have used dance as a healing modality for awhile now, but I never considered bringing in what I want to procure with it.  Here is how it all happened…dance blog 16A powerful way I have found for myself to wield what I want into being.

One night I found myself in the forest with an impending hurricane set to land directly and heavily on the house and land.  We had prepared as much as possible with supplies, generators, filled bathtubs, and blankets, but my concern laid with the land and forest around us.  Magnificent trees, ancient and covered in blankets of vines.   Trees, rolling hills, and earth that had survived many a storm.  Trees that hung and draped and stood gurad all around the house.  With this storm, trees that typically were protective and sacred, became finely carved spears for crushing roofs and walls.   Lush grassy rolling hills, became threatning mudslides.  I was actually looking forward to the storm. Recently landing on the East coast I hadn’t experienced a true storm in a long time.  Mother nature is the ultimate magic wand and her power is always a spectacle of wonder.  I wanted to align myself with her instead of becoming a victim.  I found myself alone in the living room with the winds starting to pick up speed outside.

Our bodies move and communicate more closely with nature than our words ever could.
Our bodies move and communicate more closely with nature than our words ever could.

I pulled my arms high and out and started to spin with the wind.  The wind and I spun and dove together until I was dizzy in its rhythm.

Your body is the tool that makes flying possible!
Your body is the tool that makes flying possible!

Much like moving and manipulating energy in tai chi, I began to pull and twist myself (the wind) outside the borders of our property. A river procuring these lovely crystals lines the property and I imagined casting a border of these strong sacred rocks around the property.

Spinning the veins of the land into its protection.
Spinning the veins of the land into its protection.

  My core body became grounded and quiet as my arms and legs remained the wild untamed storm around me.  My intention to keep the property protected and quiet from the raging storm that was coming.  Fifteen minutes later I came to an instinctive silence and my body slowly came to rest.  A spell had been woven around the property and everything felt secure.  dance blog 18

I create the dance of what I want! dance blog 17 – I move my muscles and bones and tendons through the mock rehearsal of what IS to happen.  I train my body to move like my dream, before it explodes into my exsistence.dancing blog 9  Much like telling a story using just your body, I move through the beginning, middle and end of the entire story.  I believe magic and spells to be a very personal thing.  Unless they are authentic to ourselves they will not be powerful or intentional enough to muster into exsistence.

My story is best told through my body.  The dance choreographed by my heart
My story is best told through my body. The dance choreographed by my heart

This is the shell, the mold, for which you to infuse your own juju…I danced the slow winds building, the trees trembling and swaying in the currents. The eye of the storm hitting and the property sitting squarely in the eye the entire time,  the storm finishing its course and moving onward.  All the while leaving the property quiet and strong.

I stayed up for hours waiting for the strong winds to hit.  Eight hours went by and the property gently swayed in the quietest breezes.  I eventually fell asleep on the couch and awoke suddenly mid morning. Anticipating the worst,  I looked out the window and everything was exactely the same as it was the night before.  Not a chime out of place.  All day I assumed our area of the country was spared from the outrageous warnings of a destructive storm.  Not until I ventured to the store that day did I realize what storm had hit that night.  As soon as I left the driveway the road was cluttered full of downed branches.  Entire massive trees splintered from there bases lay crushing garages and driveways.  Parts of gutters and tiles laying hundreds of feet away strung across lawns.  Power lines hanging down on the streets and rivers gushing dark chocolate milky waters.

After this experience I started to dance more alone in my living room.  Dancing scenerios I wanted to create, spinning new twists on stories that had already begun, and dancing the future that IS!

2 thoughts on “Dancing Dreams: Casting the spells of Wonder

  1. The way you write is so akin to the way you move… utterly beautiful.
    I absolutely adore storms. I enjoy the feeling of being small. Very, very small.

Leave a Reply

